The intention behind my new mixed-media drawings

I’ve been working on a new series of mixed-media drawings called “In her bedroom” which consist of actual girls that I know modeling in their actual bedrooms, which creates a sexy ambiance with a twist of realism. They are quite charming and even sentimental for me. Boudoir imagery is not the deepest in meaning of all the art I’ve created, but I enjoy it, and at the end of the day, if I’ve made some lovely ladies feel more beautiful, I feel that I’ve achieved one of my life purposes, which is loving women. I’ve mostly started with small black and white drawings but will expand to larger color drawings/paintings. One might ask why at this stage in my career I am not doing the large impressive collage and painting that I am known for. There are a few reasons for that. The first one being that in my state of health I cannot be around the paint fumes anymore and so dry media, ink, and watercolor have been a good solution. Also, this is not the culmination of my life’s work, like the Adam and Eve series is, but it’s a start of something new. One of the blessings of cancer is that in my physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual struggles to heal, I’m also pushing through a massive creative block that has been haunting me for about a decade that often left me paralyzed at the blank canvas. Finally freeing myself of that, I can now see the light and envision a bright future as a prolific artist again. So in this fresh new start, I’m going back to the basics, building a stronger foundation of figure drawing, value, color etc., capturing likeness, creating mood, but I’m doing it in a unique way. I believe when I mix the media, scribble and create sort of a cluster of chaos, and then find order in that chaos, I am capturing something intangible. It’s a certain feeling of depth and complexity only possible coming from a particular artist leading a life of soul searching, struggle, overcoming, insight and connection, which is my own personal experience, that shines through in the artwork. I’m trying to hone in on that intangible something, because I believe it will grow to be amazing, getting bigger and more complex over time until it once again manifests in large impressive mixed-media paintings that dazzle and inspire the hearts of the viewers. I was planning on showing a large number of these drawings at the Utah Arts Festival. I’ve started about fifty of them but I’ve only finished a handful, because honestly I’ve been on a roller coaster ride with my health in the past three months and have been limited on energy and strength, which has made me consider canceling my showing there. That is still to be determined. Regardless, I will press forward and create a large showing of these drawings somewhere in the future. Thanks again for all of the support and interest. I really appreciate it and I’m excited to see where this new beginning in art will take me.

secily1 stephanie1
misty1  001

Leave a comment